Virginia Tech®home

Faculty

Mechanical Engineering Group

Research Faculty

Instructors

Affiliate Faculty

Nicole Abaid

Nicole Abaid
Associate Professor
Mathematics, Virginia Tech
nabaid@vt.edu

Masoud Agah

Masoud Agah
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering, Virginia Tech
agah@vt.edu

Diana Bairaktarova

Diana Bairaktarova
Associate Professor
Engineering Education, Virginia Tech
dibairak@vt.edu

Romesh Batra

Romesh Batra
Clifton C. Garvin Professor
Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics, Virginia Tech
rbatra@vt.edu

Brenda Brand

Brenda Brand
Associate Professor
School of Education, Virginia Tech
bbrand@vt.edu

Scott Case

Scott Case
Reynolds Metals Professor
Civil and Enironmental Engineering, Virginia Tech
scase@vt.edu

Shengfeng Cheng

Shengfeng Cheng
Associate Professor
Physics, Virginia Tech
chengsf@vt.edu

Raffaella De Vita

Raffaella De Vita
Professor, Associate Department Head
Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics, Virginia Tech
devita@vt.edu

William Devenport

William Devenport
Professor and Director of VT Stability Wind Tunnel

Aerospace and Ocean Engineering, Virginia Tech
devenport@vt.edu

David Dillard

David Dillard
Adhesive and Sealant Science Professor, Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics
dillard@vt.edu

Stefan Duma

Stefan Duma
Harry C. Wyatt Professor and Director, ICTAS
duma@vt.edu

Jacob Grohs

Jake Grohs
Associate ProfessorAssistant Department Head for Graduate Programs
Department of Engineering Education,

Virginia Tech
jrgrohs@vt.edu

Serkan Gugercin

Serkan Gugercin
Professor
Mathematics, Virginia Tech
gugercin@vt.edu

Andrea L’Afflitto

Andrea L’Afflitto
Assistant Professor
Industrial Systems Engineering, Virginia Tech
a.lafflitto@vt.edu

Todd Lowe

Todd Lowe
Associate Professor
Aerospace and Ocean Engineering, Virginia Tech
kelowe@vt.edu

Vinh Nguyen

Vinh Nguyen
Associate Professor
Physics, Virginia Tech
vinh@vt.edu

Robin Queen

Robin Queen
Professor & Director of Granata Biomechanics Lab
Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics, Virginia Tech
rmqueen@vt.edu

Pradeep Raj

Pradeep Raj
Professor 
Aerospace and Ocean Engineering, Virginia Tech
praj@vt.edu

John Robertson

John Robertson
Professor
BEAM, Virginia Tech
drbob@vt.edu

Shane Ross

Shane Ross
Professor
AOE, Virginia Tech
sdross@vt.edu

Rodrigo Sarlo

Rodrigo Sarlo
Assistant Professor
Civil and Environmental Engineering, Virginia Tech
sarlo@vt.edu

Gary Seidel

Gary Seidel
Associate Professor
Aerospace and Ocean Engineering, Virginia Tech
gary.seidel@vt.edu

Maryam Shakiba

Maryam Shakiba
Assistant Professor
CEE, Virginia Tech
mshakiba@vt.edu

Jake Socha

Jake Socha
Professor
BEAM, Virginia Tech
jjsocha@vt.edu

Anne Staples

Anne Staples
Associate Professor

Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics, Virginia Tech
staplesa@vt.edu

Mark Stremler

Mark Stremler
Professor

Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics, Virginia Tech
stremler@vt.edu

Cornel Sultan

Cornel Sultan
Professor
Aerospace and Ocean Engineering, Virginia Tech
csultan@vt.edu

 Costin Untaroiu

Costin Untaroiu
Associate Professor
Center for Injury Biomechanics,
Virginia Tech
costin@vt.edu

Craig Woolsey

Craig Woolsey
Professor
AOE, Virginia Tech
cwoolsey@vt.edu

Roe-Hoan Yoon

Roe-Hoan Yoon
University Distinguished Professor
Mining and Minerals Engineering, Virginia Tech
ryoon@vt.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Michael Benson

Michael Benson
Advanced Fuel Manufacturing
Idaho National Labs

Magdalena Caro

Magdalena Caro
Staff Scientist
Los Alamos National Laboratory

Weiwei Deng

Weiwei Deng
Faculty
Southern University of Science and Technology

Department of Mechanics and Aerospace Engineering

Daniel Deng

Zhiqun (Daniel) Deng
Lab Fellow
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Edward Haug

Edward Haug
College of Engineering, University of Iowa

Furukawa

Tomonari Furukawa
Professor, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering,
UVA

Deborah Kelly

Deborah Kelly
Professor
Pennsylvania State University

Don Leo

Donald J. Leo
Dean, College of Engineering
University of Georgia

Jack Lesko

Jack Lesko
Director of Engineering Research, The Roux Institute

Shashank Priya

Shashank Priya
Professor
Pennsylvania State University

Hang Ruan

Hang Ruan
VP of Sensors and Systems
NanoSonic Inc.

Luka Snoj

Luka Snoj
Reactor Physics Division F-8,
Jozef Stefan Institute

Robert Sturges Jr.

Robert Sturges Jr.
Professor (retired)
ISE, Virginia Tech

Zhiting Tian

Zhiting Tian
Associate Professor
Cornell University, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Mark Van Dyke

Mark Van Dyke
Associate Dean of Research,
University of Arizona

Sankaranarayanan Vengadesan

Sankaranarayanan Vengadesan
Professor
IIT Madras, Department of Applied Mechanics

Xiaoyu (Rayne) Zheng

Xiaoyu (Rayne) Zheng
Assistant Professor
Civil & Environmental Engineering
UCLA