Virginia Tech® home

John Jones Faculty Fellowships

John R. Jones, III
John R. Jones, III

The Jones Faculty Fellowship was established in 2006 to acknowledge and reward mid-career faculty who have shown exceptional merit in research, teaching, and/or service. Jones, a member of the Class of 1967 who earned his bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering, is a retired executive of American Electric Power. He has been a member of the Department of Mechanical Engineering Advisory Board since 1998.

Recipients hold the title of Jones Faculty Fellow for a period of five years.

Current fellows

Past fellows (current faculty)

Past fellows (former faculty)

Pablo Tarazaga, Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Associate Department Head of Research and Strategic Initiatives, Texas A&M

Pavlos Vlachos, Professor of Mechanical Engineering, and Director of Regenstrief Center for Healthcare Engineering, Purdue University