Virginia Tech™home

Faculty

Mechanical Engineering Group

Instructors

Affiliate Faculty

Nicole Abaid

Nicole Abaid
Associate Professor
Dept. of Mathematics, Virginia Tech
nabaid@vt.edu

Masoud Agah

Masoud Agah
Professor
ECE, Virginia Tech
agah@vt.edu

Diana Bairaktarova

Diana Bairaktarova
Assistant Professor
ENGE, Virginia Tech
dibairak@vt.edu

Romesh Batra

Romesh Batra
Clifton C. Garvin Professor
BEAM, Virginia Tech
rbatra@vt.edu

Brenda Brand

Brenda Brand
Associate Professor
School of Education, Virginia Tech
bbrand@vt.edu

Stefano Brizzolara

Stefano Brizzolara
Associate Professor
Aerospace & Ocean Engineering
Virginia Tech
stebriz@vt.edu

Scott Case

Scott Case
Reynolds Metals Professor
BEAM, Virginia Tech
scase@vt.edu

Shengfeng Cheng

Shengfeng Cheng
Associate Professor
Department of Physics,
Virginia Tech
chengsf@vt.edu

Rafael Davalos

Rafael Davalos
L. Preston Wade Professor
BEAM, Virginia Tech
davalos@vt.edu

Raffaella De Vita

Raffaella De Vita
Professor
BEAM, Virginia Tech
devita@vt.edu

William Devenport

William Devenport
Professor and Director of VT Stability Wind Tunnel
AOE, Virginia Tech
devenport@vt.edu

David Dillard

David Dillard
Adhesive and Sealant Science Professor, BEAM
dillard@vt.edu

Stefan Duma

Stefan Duma
Harry C. Wyatt Professor and Director, ICTAS
duma@vt.edu

Clay Gabler

Clay Gabler
Professor and Chair of Graduate Studies
BEAM, Virginia Tech
gabler@vt.edu

Jacob Grohs

Jake Grohs
Associate Professor
Department of Engineering Education,
Virginia Tech
jrgrohs@vt.edu

Serkan Gugercin

Serkan Gugercin
Professor
Mathematics, Virginia Tech
gugercin@vt.edu

Andrea L’Afflitto

Andrea L’Afflitto
Assistant Professor
ISE, Virginia Tech
a.lafflitto@vt.edu

Todd Lowe

Todd Lowe
Associate Professor
AOE, Virginia Tech
kelowe@vt.edu

Vinh Nguyen

Vinh Nguyen
Associate Professor
Physics, Virginia Tech
vinh@vt.edu

Maury Nussbaum

Maury Nussbaum
H.G. Prillaman Professor, Assistant Dept. Head & Graduate Program Director
ISE, Virginia Tech
nussbaum@vt.edu

Robin Queen

Robin Queen
Associate Professor & Director of Granata Biomechanics Lab
BEAM, Virginia Tech
rmqueen@vt.edu

Shane Ross

Shane Ross
Professor
AOE, Virginia Tech
sdross@vt.edu

John Robertson

John Robertson
Professor
BEAM, Virginia Tech
drbob@vt.edu

Rodrigo Sarlo

Rodrigo Sarlo
Assistant Professor
CEE, Virginia Tech
sarlo@vt.edu

Joseph A. Schetz

Joseph A. Schetz
Fred D. Durham Endowed Chair Professor
AOE, Virginia Tech
ptiger@vt.edu

Gary Seidel

Gary Seidel
Associate Professor
AOE, Virginia Tech
gary.seidel@vt.edu

Maryam Shakiba

Maryam Shakiba
Assistant Professor
CEE, Virginia Tech
mshakiba@vt.edu

Jake Socha

Jake Socha
Professor
BEAM, Virginia Tech
jjsocha@vt.edu

Mark Stremler

Mark Stremler
Professor
BEAM, Virginia Tech
stremler@vt.edu

Cornel Sultan

Cornel Sultan
Professor
AOE, Virginia Tech
stremler@vt.edu

 Costin Untaroiu

Costin Untaroiu
Associate Professor
Center for Injury Biomechanics,
Virginia Tech
costin@vt.edu

Craig Woolsey

Craig Woolsey
Professor
AOE, Virginia Tech
cwoolsey@vt.edu

Roe-Hoan Yoon

Roe-Hoan Yoon
University Distinguished Professor
MME, Virginia Tech
ryoon@vt.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Michael Benson

Michael Benson
Advanced Fuel Manufacturing & Development Department
Idaho National Labs
Michael.benson@inl.gov

Magdalena Caro

Magdalena Caro
Staff Scientist
Los Alamos National Laboratory

mcaroar@yahoo.com

Picture Unavailable

Weiwei Deng
Faculty
Southern University of Science and Technology

Department of Mechanics and Aerospace Engineering
weiwei@vt.edu

Daniel Deng

Zhiqun (Daniel) Deng
Lab Fellow
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

zhiqun.deng@pnnl.gov

Furukawa

Tomonari Furukawa
Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
University of VA
tf4rp@virginia.edu

Deborah Kelly

Deborah Kelly
Professor
Pennsylvania State University
debkelly@psu.edu

Don Leo

Donald J. Leo
Dean, College of Engineering
University of Georgia

donleo@engr.uga.edu

Shashank Priya

Shashank Priya
Professor
Pennsylvania State University

sup103@psu.edu

Hang Ruan

Hang Ruan
VP of Sensors and Systems
NanoSonic Inc.

hangruan@vt.edu

Robert Sturges Jr.

Robert Sturges Jr.
Professor (retired)
ISE, Virginia Tech

sturges@vt.edu

Picture Unavailable

Zhiting Tian
Assistant Professor
Cornell University, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

zt223@cornell.edu

Mark Van Dyke

Mark Van Dyke
Associate Dean of Research,
University of Arizona

Picture Unavailable

Sankaranarayanan Vengadesan
Professor
IIT Madras, Department of Applied Mechanics

vengades@iitm.ac.in

Xiaoyu (Rayne) Zheng

Xiaoyu (Rayne) Zheng
Assistant Professor
Civil & Environmental Engineering
UCLA
rayne@seas.ucla.edu